3 Indian-origin Tory MPs support Boris Johnson as UK's next PM

Last Updated: Jun 12 2019 17:06
Reading time: 0 mins, 48 secs

As the leading candidates to replace PM Theresa May set out their stalls in the leadership election, five Indian-origin Conservative MPs declared their support: three back Boris Johnson and two favour Dominic Raab.

Promises by Johnson of withholding the ‘divorce bill’ from EU to get a better deal, or he and other candidates offering tax cuts became the subject of intense debate, as the deadline to file nominations for the contest ended at 5 pm on Monday.

The declared support by Conservative MPs to the 10 contenders is being carefully monitored to indicate their level of support among the 318 party MPs, who will vote in the first phase of the two-phase election.

The MPs will whittle down the number of candidates to two through several rounds of voting that will eliminate contenders with the least number of votes. The second phase will see 1.2 lakh party members vote on the two candidates, with the result declared in the week beginning July 22.