Rohit Sharma to lead India in T20I tri-series

Last Updated: Feb 25 2018 14:45

CRICKET- Rohit Sharma has been named as captain of Indian team for the upcoming T20 International tri-series to be held in Sri Lanka. Bangladesh is the third country to take part in the series which starts on March 6.

“We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalising the team for Nidahas Trophy,” Chairman of selectors MSK Prasad said.

“The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximize rest and prevent injury. MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest,” he added. Virat Kohli has also been rested.

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vc), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant (wk)