50 countries ban Boeing 737 Max 8 planes after Ethiopian crash

Last Updated: Mar 14 2019 19:25

WASHINGTON- After the crash of an Ethiopian Airlines plane of the same model that claimed lives of all 157 people on board, 50 countries, including the US, has either grounded or banned the Boeing 737 Max 8 planes.

United States President Donald Trump spoke to the media before the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) on Wednesday grounded all Boeing 737 Max jets in the country, as per CNN reports.

"I didn't want to take any chances. We didn't have to make this decision today," Trump said. 

"We could have delayed it. We maybe didn`t have to make it at all. But I felt it was important both psychologically and in a lot of other ways."

Trump said his decision was fact-based, even as he admitted it was made partly with regard for the mental well-being of American travellers. 

"The safety of the American people, of all people, is our paramount concern," he added.

According to the FAA, of more than 370 Boeing 737 Max jets in global fleets, 74 are flown by US airlines. Those include United Airlines, Southwest Airlines and American Airlines.