Singapore extends visa-free transit facility duration to 96 hrs

Last Updated: Mar 13 2019 17:05

GB Srithar, Regional Director South Asia, Middle East and Africa, Singapore Tourism Board said, Singapore extended visa-free transit facility to 96 hours recently so that travellers in transit to or from any third country via Singapore may be eligible for 96 hours’ stay under certain conditions such as the travellers should have a valid ticket or other proof of the destination.

Speaking to reporters on Tuesday, Srithar said metro cities such as Chennai, Bengaluru, Delhi and Mumbai contributed to the highest number of visitors to Singapore and 4,98,000 travellers visited Singapore last year.

Also, Singapore received 1, 60,000 cruise holiday-makers from India in 2018, making India the top cruise travel source market for Singapore.

Indian national who is in transit to or from any third country via Singapore may be eligible for the 96-hour VFTF if he meets these requirements:

He may enter Singapore by any mode of transport but depart only via air or sea. The person must have a valid onward air/ferry/cruise ticket departing Singapore within 96 hours; and

The person must have a valid visa/long-term pass (with a validity of at least 1 month from the date of entry into Singapore under the VFTF) issued by any of the following countries:





New Zealand


United Kingdom

United States of America

Srithar also said that Singapore will open Jewel Changi Airport on April 17. The 10-storey complex will be home to more than 280 shops.

Singapore has also entered into a partnership with high consumer-touch brands Paytm and Ola and a music promotional association with music director Ilaiyaraaja.