IPL 2019 to have three team women T20 event

Last Updated: Feb 08 2019 16:03
Reading time: 1 min, 14 secs

CRICKET- After a successful exhibition match last year, Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 will have three teams to compete in women’s T20 event.

Last year, two teams- IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas lead by Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur respectively played in an exhibition women’s T20 match.

BCCI’s Committee of Administrators (CoA) is thinking of organizing a three team event spread over seven to ten days this year as a full-fledged women’s IPL will take some time to become a reality.

A senior BCCI official said it will not be possible to have more than three teams as there is not enough bench strength in women’ team.

“At the max, we can have three teams with Harmanpreet, Smriti and may be Mithali (for this year) leading the sides. They play against each other once and the top two play a tournament decider. It could be a seven-day affair,” the official said.

Also, there are not many bidders who are interested in buying women’s teams, making BCCI the sole body who will have to play Indian as well as foreign players playing in the League.

BCCI will also need to find a broadcaster who will be willing to at least live stream the main matches.