Laser physics inventors awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics

Last Updated: Oct 02 2018 16:31
Reading time: 0 mins, 51 secs

SWEDEN- Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland have been declared the winners of 2018 Nobel prize for Physics by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The award has been given for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.

One half of the award is given to Ashkin for creating a light trap known as optical tweezers while the other half has been awarded to Mourou and Strickland who paved the way towards the shortest and most intense laser pulses created by humankind.

For the first time in 55 years, a woman has been chosen for the prestigious award. Donna Strickland, from Canada, is only the third woman winner of the award, along with Marie Curie, who won in 1903, and Maria Goeppoert-Mayer, who was awarded the prize in 1963.

The Nobel prize for Physics is worth a total of nine million Swedish kronor (£770,686; $998,618).